School Committee Minutes of March 24, 2009

Posted: July 7, 2009, by CathyGrant

MARCH 24, 2009

Present:      Mr. John Bowe, Chair
            Ms. Ann Rittenburg, Secretary
Ms. Elizabeth Gibson
            Ms. Leslie Walker
            Ms. Laurie Graham
Ms. Becky Vose
            Dr. Patricia Aubin, Superintendent of Schools
            Mr. Denis Fitzpatrick, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction
            Dr. Gerry Missal, Director of Finance and Administration

Julie Silverman, Human Resources Manager, as well as Kathy Miller and Scott Stratford, former school committee members, were in attendance.     


      1.1      At 7:00 p.m., on a motion offered by Mr. Bowe and seconded by Ms. Gibson, it was

      VOTED:  unanimously on a roll call vote (6-0) to enter executive session for the purpose of discussing collective bargaining issues.

2.1      Call to Order           
      At 7:36 p.m. Mr. Bowe called the meeting to order in the Community Room of the Chenery Middle School. 

      2.2      Superintendent's Report 

      Dr. Aubin reported on Monday’s EDCO Legislative Forum at the State House.  School committee members Ms. Rittenburg and Ms. Graham attended as did members of the central office administrative team and community members. At the end of the forum, Rep. Will Brownsberger met with the group.

      Dr. Aubin announced that the Wellington Project is scheduled to be on the MSBA’ agenda for March 25, 2009

      Dr. Aubin asked Julie Silverman to update the committee on the search for a new Butler principal.  Ms. Silverman announced that the search committee had selected Michael Guirlando and Michael McAllister to be interviewed by the central office administration.  These candidates will also meet with the Butler staff and Butler parents. 

      Dr. Aubin announced that interviews for the director of English will begin on Wednesday, March 25.           

      2.3      Chairman's Report       

      Mr. Bowe reported on the Stand for Children rally at the State house today.     

      Mr. Bowe commented on the costs of administrators in the system, noting that the Belmont Public Schools’ administrative costs are 20% lower than the state average and almost 33% lower than districts inside 128.     

      2.4      Citizens' Concerns       

      Marsha Knoll expressed support for the restoration of the 0.2 FTE for drama at the high school.                 


      4.1      Consolidation Efforts     

      Dr. Aubin had Steve Mazzola, Director of Technology, give the School Committee an overview of the Service Level Agreement for Town-Wide Network Services recently negotiated with Dave Petto, IT Manager for the town of Belmont.  Dr. Aubin expressed her gratitude for this agreement as a model of the kind of collaboration possible between the school department and the town.  Mr. Mazzola also informed the committee that a revised Student Acceptable Use policy is ready for review by counsel.  Finally, Mr. Mazzola announced a power saving initiative which the EPA estimates will save approximately $40,000 in energy costs per year.
      4.2      Review of Calendar for 2009-2010 School Year – Exhibit A     

      Mr. Fitzpatrick reviewed a draft of next year’s school calendar, modeled after the current school calendar with students beginning on the first Wednesday in September and curriculum days scheduled to extend  the Columbus Day and Martin Luther King Birthday weekends fro parents and students.                                                                       
4.3            Approval of Minutes –      

      On a motion offered by Ms Vose and seconded by Ms. Walker, it was

VOTED:      unanimously to accept meeting minutes for the following dates:
            November 18 and 21; December 5, 9, and 16, 2008
                  January 6, 9, 13, 14, 20, 24, 26, 27; February 3, 5, 6, 27; March 3, 10, 2009

4.4      Recognition of Service     

      Dr. Aubin called on Ms. Rittenburg who paid tribute to Mr. Bowe and Ms. Gibson who are completing their terms on the School Committee.  Ms. Rittenburg thanked Mr. Bowe and Ms. Gibson for their years of service on the Belmont School Committee.  Scott Stratford and Kathy Miller added to Ms. Rittenburg’s comments as did current members of the School Committee.  Dr. Aubin thanked Mr. Bowe and Ms. Gibson on behalf of the students, staff, and administrators for their support of the Belmont Public Schools.

      Mr. Bowe and Ms. Gibson expressed their thanks for the kind tributes. Following the adjournment, a reception was held honoring Mr. Bowe and Ms. Gibson.


      6.1      Consent Agenda - None           
      6.2      Personnel Items - Informational

            a.      Instructional Assignments – Exhibit B
            b.      Leave of Absence – Exhibit C
            c.      Non-Instructional 6 Month Prob. Period Complete – Exhibit D
            d.      Resignations – Exhibit E                                                                                    
      6.3      Business Items - None

      7.1      Next Meeting Dates:

            April 7, 2009 – 7:30 p.m.
            Organizational Meeting
            CMS Community Room                                   

      8.1      CheetahZine     
      8.2      March 11, 2009 letter of thanks to Mike Harvey and Dan Richards re: China Exchange Initiative     

      At 8:50 p.m., on a motion offered by Mr. Bowe and seconded by Ms. Vose, it was

      VOTED:  unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

                        Respectfully submitted by _____________________________________
                                    Ann Rittenburg