< Back
You are here  >   Home  >  Belmont Public Schools News

Belmont Public Schools News

National Honors Society Induction Ceremony

Eighty Belmont High School students were inducted into the National Honors Society at a ceremony held at BHS on December 2.

Selection of students for membership is by a faculty council and is based on the criteria of scholarship, leadership, service and character along with a qualifying cumulative grade point average.  Once selected, members are required to continue to demonstrate these qualities through active involvement in school activities and community service and fulfill other responsibilities as outlined in the National Honor Society (NHS) Constitution.

Opening remarks were made by BHS Principal Daniel Richards and Belmont High School (BHS) Math Teacher Daniel Moresco addressed the inductees, and, along with Principal Richards and NHS advisor Risa Carp, presented the certificates to the new inductees.  NHS President Emma Pierce-Hoffman, Secretary Erin Cantor, Vice President Carly Tymm, and Treasurer Ritika Saxena also spoke. There were musical performances by the BHS Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Orchestra Director Margot Reavey, and the BHS Madrigals, conducted by Madrigal Director Sean Landers.

The National Honor Society began in 1921 to honor students who have demonstrated excellence.  The Society estimates that more than one million students participate in NHS activities, with chapters in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada.  For more information see the NHS website.

Congratulations to all the new inductees for 2015-2016.

Mariam Abutaleb

Melanie Aftandilian

Allison Arsenault

Danielle Baiany

Alexandra Bailey

Lucy Battle

Arman Belorian

Rachel Berets

Antranig Boynerian

Aidan Carey

Eleanor Carlile

Samantha Casey

Julia Cella

Su Jing Chen

Cal Christofori

James Clark-Stewart

Zachary Colleran

Margaux d’Arbeloff

Chloe Derba

Emma Giallongo

Caroline Goulding

Kierstin Gurwell

Eriko Hishiya

Kiara Holm

Jospeh Hraiz

Rachel Jansen

Suyeon Ji

Lena Jiang

Claire Johnson

Benjamin Jones

Daphne Kaxiras

Andrew Kelley

Elizabeth Knight

Bo Lan

Adelie Leabman

Judy Li

Ava  Madden

Jenna Magno

Colleen McVay

Francesca Mei

Clara Miller

Veronica Murray

Katarena Nalbandian

Dana O’Rourke

Devan O’Toole

Pateel Parseghian

Luke Peterson

Ana-Maria Poole

Rahul Ramakrishnan

Paul Ramsey

Faye Reagan

Calvin Reinhardt-Ertman

Andrew Reppucci

Paul Rhee

Noah Riley

Giulia Rufo

Naria Sealey

Yinuo Shi

Anna Shuster

Elisabeth Silletto

Thomas Slap

Anya Sondhi

Edward Stafford

Kathleen Starr

Alexia Stefanovich

Gillian Tahajian

Manvi Tandon

Eleanor Thidemann

Nicole Thoma

Momoko Tokuo

Sierra Tseng

Arthur Tzouvelis

Danielle Veo

Amanda Wan

Samari Winklaar

Karen Ying

Melina Young

Jessica Zavaro

Kaiwen Zhang

Stephanie Zhang