School Committee Minutes of January 14, 2009

Posted: March 30, 2009, by Cathy Grant

JANUARY 14, 2009

Present:      Mr. John Bowe, Chair
            Ms. Ann Rittenburg, Secretary
Ms. Elizabeth Gibson
            Ms. Leslie Walker
            Ms. Laurie Graham
Ms. Becky Vose
            Dr. Patricia Aubin, Superintendent of Schools

Also in attendance were Dr. Gerry Missal, Denis Fitzpatrick, and Julia Silverman.

This meeting was a joint meeting with the Board of Selectman, Warrant Committee, and Capital Budget Committee.  Ralph Jones, Selectman, was absent.


2.1      Call to Order

At 7:41 p.m. Mr. Bowe called the School Committee to order in the Community Room of the Chenery Middle School.


Phil Curtis, Chair of the Warrant Committee, distributed the evening’s agenda.

Dr. Patricia Aubin addressed issues of consolidation from the School Department’s perspective.

Members of the Warrant Committee and the Capital Budget Committee weighed in on the topic of consolidation.

Phil Curtis reported that he is meeting with Dr. Aubin, Tom Younger, Pat Brusch, Ann Rittenburg, Liz Allison, and Angelo Firenze to address structural issues within the town and school departments.

Discussion moved to the issue of a Proposition 2 ½ override.  Angelo Firenze and Dan Le Clerc, Selectmen, indicated they believe an override is needed.

Phil Curtis indicated that he is looking to schedule the public budget forum for another date.  February 4 was suggested but not finalized.

State Representative Will Brownsberger provided an update on legislative action surrounding cuts to the FY 09 budget.

Mike Widmer indicated that the FY 10 state budget will likely include a cut in Chapter 70 aid.  He also indicated that the current fiscal crisis will probably not stabilize for three to five years.


      At 9:30 p.m., on a motion offered by Ms. Vose and seconded by Ms. Graham, it was

      VOTED:  unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

                        Respectfully submitted by _____________________________________
                                    Ann Rittenburg