Google Facebook Twitter Linkedin

644 Pleasant Street | Belmont, MA 02478
phone: 617 - 993 - 5400
School Committee members
< Back
You are here  >   Committee

About the School Committee

  • The Belmont School Committee is an unpaid six-member board elected to three-year terms at Belmont's annual Town Election.  Terms overlap so two members are elected per year. By state law (chap 71, ), the School Committee is the policy setting entity for the public schools.  It also appoints the Superintendent, approves several other key positions, approves the budget, and negotiates with school unions.

The Warrant Committee recommends and, ultimately, Town Meeting appropriates, a yearly budget for the school system as a single line item.  The School Committee has full control over how that money is spent. By law the School Committee holds a public hearing before approving its budget.

Finance Sub-Committee:

  • Susan Burgess-Cox

Curriculum & Instruction Sub-Committee:

  • Lisa Fiore

Policy and Procedure Sub-Committee:

  • Susan Burgess-Cox

TV coverage of past Belmont School Committee meetings is provided by the Belmont Media Center here:

Contact Us


644 Pleasant Street,
Belmont, MA 02478

to e-mail the entire committee:

School Committee Members

Susan Burgess-Cox, Chair
(617) 932-1189

Andrea Prestwich, Secretary
(617) 489-8523

Lisa Fiore
(617) 489-5189

Catherine Bowen
(617) 852-9839

Tara Donner
(617) 855-8116

Jill Norton
(617) 484-9279

Contact Us

  • Administration: 617-993-5400
  • High School: 617-993-5900 
  • Chenery Middle School: 617-993-5800 
  • Butler School: 617-993-5550 
  • Burbank School: 617-993-5500 
  • Wellington School: 617-993-5600 
  • Winn Brook School: 617-993-5700
  • BPS Webmaster: send email
TOP Copyright 2018 by Belmont Public Schools. All Rights Reserved Privacy Statement